Complete Story

CropLife America Recognizes Award Winners at 2023 Annual Meeting

CropLife America (CLA) is celebrating its 90th anniversary in 2023, and the CLA 2023 Annual Meeting shined a spotlight on 90 years of innovation in agriculture, specifically highlighting the industry’s journey through history and where it has the potential to go in the future. Held September 12 – 14, CLA’s members and allies gathered to celebrate the industry’s progress and chart a new path for on-farm sustainability, future innovations, and more.

A highlight of the Annual Meeting is the recognition of members who have shown exemplary drive and leadership. Whether on a specific issue or managing the work of an entire committee, CLA is thankful for members’ time and hard work and dedication to the industry. Members and partners recognized by CLA this year include:

  • The Pillar Award recognizes an individual or group who has shown dedicated service to the pesticide industry and CLA by working diligently on current and emerging issues. Pillar Award winners for 2023 are: Dr. Douglas Hines(ADAMA); Elisha Modisett-Kemp (Corteva Agrisciences); Dr. Paul Kierkus (BASF Corporation); and Dr. Sean McGee (Bayer).

  • The Chairman’s Award honors individuals within the CLA staff for their exceptional service to member companies, the industry, and the organization. This year’s winners are Katie Stump (manager, science policy) and Kerri Swain (office manager).

  • The Urbanowski Grassroots Award honors the outstanding grassroots contributions made by an individual or organization at the local, state, or federal level. CLA was thrilled to recognize Taylor Roschen (KSC Consulting).

  • The Jay Vroom Agriculture Ambassador Award honors a member or an allied organization to CLA who has made a major contribution to public education about pesticides and their contribution to a safe, affordable, and sustainable food supply. This year, CLA recognized Eric Castner (FMC Corporation) and Renee Pinel (Western Plant Health).
  • CLA presented the Rising Star Award to recognize emerging leaders in the agricultural industry whose record reflects exceptional growth in leadership and responsibility. Congratulations to Elizabeth Boylan (FMC Corporation); Dillon Gabbert (Bayer); and Sarah Hovinga (Bayer) on this well-deserved honor!

  • The Lea S. Hitchner Award honors one individual whose outstanding contributions to the industry and association activities epitomize the essence of the first CLA President, Lea S. Hitchner. This year, the award was presented to John Abbott (Syngenta). John’s dedication to the pesticide industry through his 36-year career and numerous industry volunteer efforts has helped the agriculture industry, pesticide manufacturers, and regulatory agencies work together more effectively.

CLA is also pleased to welcome six new member companies: Beck Ag, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, Corbet Scientific, Envu, Greenlight Biosciences, and Mosaic Biosciences.

“We congratulate this year’s recipients and are always grateful for their leadership and dedication to the agriculture industry,” stated Chris Novak, president and CEO of CLA. “As we celebrate 90 years of CLA, it is amazing to reflect on the innovations that have enabled farmers to improve the health, safety, and productivity of our nation’s food supply. Today, our member companies are helping farmers grow more food with fewer resources, adapt to a changing climate, and embrace new technologies that are making food production more sustainable. The pesticide industry is ready for 90 more years of innovation and success, benefitting our farmers, our communities, and our planet.”

Printer-Friendly Version